How to Un-Stuck Life: Living in Purpose

Life-PurposeI had a conversation the other day with a close friend. I had shared with her a video about this three year old who loved to cook and was already making some serious meals at just 3! My friend commented ‘ she’ll have 100,000 hours’ implying that she’ll have surpassed the 10,000hr mark needed to create geniuses, as we are told.

She then commented (jokingly of course) ‘what are we doing with our lives? Do you ever feel like life in regards to your career isn’t moving? Like your dream looks like a mirage?’ I told her that I sort of stopped feeling that way because I discovered my purpose and I am living in it.

This conversation brought to mind the journey I’ve gone through in discovering why I am on this earth. Truth be told, Yes I have been through that ‘stuck!-what-am-i-doing-with-my-life?!-my-dream-goals-are-in-pluto-and-I-am-a-tiny-spec-on-earth-and-everyone-else-seems-to-have-reached-their-pluto’ phase. I also realized many people my age seem to be going through this phase, and if you’re not able to find an answer, you fall into depression. When things don’t seem to be going as you planned, you feel as though your life is falling apart and you’re such a failure. You think your other age mates are doing much better than you because of their ‘Picture Perfect’  social media accounts.

Well, Surprise! Surprise my friends, those people you think are doing well, are equally thinking you’re doing well.

But guys, here’s the thing. Finding your purpose frees you from the hopeless, despairing prison of ‘what am I doing with my life.’

I can confidently say that I have found my purpose.

So my friend asked me what my purpose is and this how I summarized it for her:

  1. To love God, make Him known and to love people. Matthew 6:33- But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.
  2. To be a good steward of the season I’m in, in my life. Colossians 3:23 – Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters,
  3. To work my God given skills/talents and abilities so that He can use them for His glory. Proverbs 18:16- A gift opens the way and ushers the giver into the presence of the great.

(NIV Bible)

One thing we need to realize about purpose is that we can never find it apart from God. Whether you are a believer or not, the true meaning of life can only be found in God, the maker of the universe. You need to go back to the person who created you to give you the manual of why you exist and how you are to exist. It’s that plain and simple.

And here is another thing we need to understand; WE HAVE ALL BEEN CREATED WITH THE SAME PURPOSE! IT’S HOW WE ARE GIFTED TO EXECUTE THIS PURPOSE THAT MAKES ONE PERSON DIFFERENT FROM ANOTHER.

Human beings were created to LOVE GOD AND LOVE PEOPLE! PERIOD!

God is not keen about your super high flying career or talent. But He is keen on, how are you using what you have to love God and Love people? Anytime you are frustrated with yourself, that’s a sign that you’ve lost track of the ultimate purpose.

When we are able to grasp this truth, you begin to realize that every day, is a life lived in purpose, even in the mundane. You will start seeing yourself and your life as a success.

We also need to get out of the world’s perception and expectation of what it means to be successful, because IT IS AN ABSOLUTE TANGENT TO WHAT GOD’S MEASURE OF SUCCESS IS. And this is why many of us are frustrated with life, because we are pegging our success on human standards which keeps shifting like sand, and with every success, you seek more and more, until you realize this is a void that is not being filled.

I have peace, joy and contentment, because I know why I have been created. I choose to work my school assignments, office job, wash dishes, have my interactions with people in an excellent manner, and to the best of my ability. If I do that, I have success, because I know my Maker is pleased with me, and I am doing what he made me to do. I have goals and dreams, which I am working towards, but I choose to enjoy the journey of molding (the stuckness, dryness, uncertainty, confusion, laughter, frustration, pain, high’s and lows), and learning on my way there, which I have come to understand, is the bigger goal than actually getting there. And if I work my skill with excellence, doors will be open. I do not have to worry or concern myself about becoming the next big thing and fighting to becoming it. At the end of my life, God is more concerned about my character than about my goal/career achievement.

If this wasn’t the case my friends, what would we then say about those who died young, or died before they reached ‘their life’s goals’ (according to the world, fame and success)? They never achieved their purpose? Not true. We remember those people because of how they impacted our lives for the better. They were living in purpose because they loved people, in one way or another.

So, think of a chair for instance. What is its purpose? To offer support. If the someone sits on a chair, the chair is fulfilled because it has served its purpose.

Purpose is not some grandiose idea or concept that we are all searching for. It is in everyday life. Purpose is a journey, not a destination. We don’t search for purpose; We live in it.

2 thoughts on “How to Un-Stuck Life: Living in Purpose

Leave a Reply

